Colorado Water Division

All the water in Colorado is from precipitation and all the rivers in Colorado flow out to other states. That's why Colorado carefully manages our state's water through a well-organized system of water divisions.

Colorado is divided into seven water divisions, each organized around a major drainage basin or group of rivers.

  • Division One is the South Platte River basin. It includes Denver, Aurora, Boulder, Fort Collins, Greeley and Fort Morgan;
  • Division Two is the Arkansas River basin. It includes Colorado Springs, Pueblo, Buena Vista, Salida, Trinidad and Leadville;
  • Division Three, the Rio Grande basin, includes Alamosa, Monte Vista, Del Norte, Creed and Saguache
  • Division Four contains the Gunnison and San Miguel rivers, and part of the Dolores River. Cities in Division Four include Gunnison, Delta, Grand Junction, Telluride and Ouray
  • Division Five is the Colorado River basin, excluding the Gunnison River basin. Glenwood Springs, Aspen, Vail, Dillon and Eagle are in Division Five
  • Division Six contains the Yampa, White and North Platte rivers, and includes the towns of Craig, Meeker, Rangely and Walden
  • Division Seven contains the San Juan and Dolores rivers. It includes Durango, Pagosa Springs, Bayfield and Dove Creek.


All of Colorado's water divisions are under the supervision of the Office of the State Engineer.

Keep All Your Projects Under One Roof

Contact us

Make the smart choice for your yard's transformation and reach out to the skilled professionals at Green Guys today. With our dedicated team of experts, we are committed to unlocking the full potential of your outdoor space, crafting a landscape that will captivate your senses and bring joy throughout the year.

Contact Us Today
front yard work green guys